By Baltimore Senior Advisor Care Team · October 16, 2026
Towson and the Lutherville-Timonium-Cockeysville-Hunt Valley stretch have 20 licensed assisted living programs, nearly all large, plus 13 CMS-rated nursing homes. Most are 80-plus bed communities; compare the base rate, the care-level fees and the nursing home's CMS record if a campus has one.
Why is York Road the region's senior living corridor?
York Road runs north from the city line through Towson, the county seat, and on through Lutherville, Timonium, Cockeysville and Hunt Valley. Two hospitals -- GBMC and University of Maryland St. Joseph -- sit within a mile of each other in Towson, the county Department of Aging is on Central Avenue, and the light rail parallels the road. Over decades, nonprofit and church-affiliated campuses and newer private communities clustered here.
The roster reflects it. Unlike Baltimore City's small homes, the 20 programs along the corridor are almost all large: together they hold 1117 licensed beds.
Which are the largest programs on the corridor?
| Program | Town | Licensed beds | Level | Memory care reported | MHCC starting rate/day |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pickersgill Retirement Community | Towson | 138 | Level 3 | No | $133 |
| Maryland Masonic Homes | Cockeysville | 110 | Level 3 | No | $143 |
| Brightview Towson | Towson | 100 | Level 3 | No | Not reported |
| Edenwald Senior Living | Towson | 99 | Level 3 | Yes | $383 |
| College Manor, Inc | Lutherville | 99 | Level 3 | Yes | $122 |
| Brightview Hunt Valley, LLC | Hunt Valley | 95 | Level 3 | Yes | Not reported |
| Brightview Mays Chapel Ridge | Timonium | 89 | Level 3 | Yes | $274 |
| Seaton Towson | Towson | 80 | Level 3 | No | $200 |
Rates are what each program reported to the Maryland Health Care Commission; they are self-reported and usually exclude care-level fees.
How do the corridor's nursing homes rate with CMS?
13 nursing homes in Towson and the northern corridor have CMS ratings; Advanced Rehab At Autumn Lake Healthcare (5 stars), Broadmead (5 stars), Chestnut Grn Hlth Ctr Blakehur (5 stars), Complete Care At Multi Medical Center LLC (5 stars), Edenwald (5 stars). Several are part of continuing care campuses, which matters if a couple wants to stay on one site as needs change.
Read the CMS health-inspection rating and the latest deficiency list, not just the overall stars. A campus with a strong assisted living side can have a weaker nursing side, and vice versa.
What should families ask a large community?
- How is the care level assessed, how often, and what does each level add to the monthly bill?
- How many residents does each aide cover on the evening and overnight shifts?
- What has the annual increase been for each of the last three years?
- If the community has an Alzheimer's unit, may we read the OHCQ-approved description?
- Is there an entrance fee, and is any part refundable?
What is different about continuing care campuses on the corridor?
Several of the corridor's best-known names are continuing care retirement communities, where a resident enters independent living and can move to assisted living and nursing care on the same campus as needs change. Maryland's Department of Aging regulates CCRC contracts, which usually involve an entrance fee plus monthly fees, separately from OHCQ's licensing of the assisted living and nursing units on the campus.
For a couple with different care needs, a campus can keep them close. For someone who already needs assisted living, it matters whether the campus accepts direct admission to assisted living from outside, or reserves those beds for residents already living there. Ask before you fall in love with the grounds.
If an entrance fee is involved, get the refund schedule in writing and read it with someone you trust. Contracts vary widely between declining refunds and fixed-percentage refunds.
How do memory care options on York Road compare?
11 of the corridor's programs report special care beds or a secure Alzheimer's unit to OHCQ or MHCC -- a higher share than most parts of the metro, because larger buildings are more likely to have a dedicated neighborhood. Ask each one for the written description of its Alzheimer's Special Care Unit, which OHCQ must approve before the unit is marketed and which must state staffing over 24 hours and the unit's fees.
A good test on the tour is to ask the unit's staff -- not the marketing director -- what they did the last time a resident tried to leave, and how many awake staff are on the unit at 3 a.m.
Families comparing corridor communities with smaller homes in Parkville or the city's 21212 ZIP code should weigh the programming and secured design of a large unit against the continuity of a smaller household.
How do you tour efficiently along the corridor?
Because the corridor's communities sit within a few miles of each other, families can tour three in a day. Schedule them for late morning, lunch and mid-afternoon, and eat the meal at one of them. Bring the same list of questions to each and ask for the same documents: the Uniform Disclosure Statement, a sample resident agreement, the fee schedule and, where relevant, the Alzheimer's unit description.
After the tours, call back the one you liked best and ask to visit again at dinner or on a weekend without an appointment. Large communities can feel very different when the marketing team is not there.
If a parent's physicians are at GBMC or St. Joseph, ask each community how residents get to appointments and whether the community's transportation covers Towson, Lutherville and the hospital campuses.
What about the light rail and visiting?
The light rail parallels York Road from Timonium and Lutherville toward the city, which can help family members who do not drive. Ask each community how far the nearest stop is and whether its shuttle meets visitors. Small details like this decide how often grandchildren come by.
Where can you see every program on the corridor?
Our Towson and Cockeysville and Timonium pages list every licensed program with its license number, beds and level, and the Baltimore County Department of Aging (410-887-2594) offers free options counseling.
Frequently asked questions
How many assisted living communities are in Towson, MD?
OHCQ lists 9 licensed assisted living programs in Towson, most with 50 or more beds.
Which hospitals are in Towson?
GBMC and University of Maryland St. Joseph Medical Center.
Where is the Baltimore County Department of Aging?
611 Central Avenue in Towson; 410-887-2594.
Do York Road communities have memory care?
11 of the corridor's 20 programs report special care beds or a secure Alzheimer's unit.
